Cellar Door closed in December 2018. Please check with new owners for date when it may re-open.
The Eagles Rise cellar door was a lovingly restored 1880’s sunday school house, perched high on the hill right next to the vineyard and winery and commanding views all the way into Geelong. The old building was in the middle of a housing development in the Bannockburn township in 2005 and was about to demolished when it was rescued. The outer asbestos sheeting, internal laminate lining sheets and deep mustard carpet were removed to reveal all the beauty of the original timbers. It has become the unofficial historical society for the community, with the baltic pine wall adorned with many historical photos, and other artifacts from schooling 130 years ago.
Eagles Rise embossed ‘Pro-tasting’ glasses are used for flights of wild ferment and cellar aged wines showcasing depth and strength of wines across many years, including ‘vertical’ sampling of a single variety over several years, and ‘horizontal’ sampling of a single variety fermented different ways in a single year.